NLNG Prize for Literature 2020 [$100,000 for Grab] | Call for Entries

2020 NLNG Prize for Literature: Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited Calls for Entries from Nigerians for the 2020 Edition of The Prize for Literature, See Eligibility, Panel of Judges, Advisory Board, Submission Guidelines, Deadline and Winners Announcement Dates | Up to $100,000 for Grab.

Entries are hereby invited for The Nigeria Prize  for Literature. The yearly literature prize is endowed by Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited to honour the author of the best book by a Nigerian within the last four years.

The prize rotates among four literary genres- prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year, the competition is for Prose Fiction.



The competition is open to only Nigerian writers irrespective of their place of residence. It carries a reward of one hundred thousand US dollars ($100,000.00).


  • Twelve (12) copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National Identity card), may be submitted either by author or publisher, in accordance with the genres in competition. Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limited‘s External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline.
  • All applicants must submit their entries accompanied by an application form obtainable online from the NLNG website. Completed forms must be printed and submitted along with the entries.  0 No book published before January, 2016 will be accepted.
  • An author will enter only one published work. Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at a later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.
  • No member of the Advisory Board or Panel of Judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years thereafter. No entries will be entertained from members of NLNG staff and their families.
  • Failure to meet all stated conditions above will lead to disqualification of the entry

Download NLNG Prize for Literature Application Form.


  • A Panel of Judges has been appointed for The Nigeria Prize for Literature by the Advisory Board for Literature.
  • The appointment of judges has been done to reflect the genre in competition for the year.
  • Persons appointed as judges have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image and command respect nationally and internationally.
  • The outcome of the process as approved by the Advisory Board shall be final.


  • Professor Mary Kolawole - Chairman  
  • Professor Tanimu Abubakar - Member
  • Dr. Solomon Azumurana - Member

An international consultant will be appointed.


The winner will normally be announced and presented to the public in October, 2020.


All entries must be in by March 31, 2020. Late entries will not be entertained.


  • Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo - Chairman  
  • Professor Jerry Agada - Member  
  • Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe - Member

Entries should be sent to:
The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism 
External Relations Division  
Nigeria LNG Limited  
Corporate Head Office,  
NLNG Road, Amadi Creek,  
Port Harcourt, Rivers State.  


The Nigeria Prize for Literature External Relations Division,  
Nigeria LNG Limited,  4th Floor, Heron House,  
10 Dean Farrar Street,  London, SW1 H ODX.  


For further information, visit Nigeria LNG Limited’s website: